About Chakras

A beginners Guide to Chakras | Naturhelix Ear Candles
The Eastern concept of chakras comes from Indian culture, specifically from Hindu philosophy. The term Chakra is itself Hindi in origin and means "spinning wheel".

The system of chakras is now used widely in the West alternative healing and spiritual practices and has become popular not least because of its accessibility for both mediation and colour healing applications.

The chakras are also at the root of the human aura, a magnetic field that stands outside the visible body. The aura is visible through specialist (Kirlian) photography apparatus and to individuals who have the gift or ability of being able to observe the aura with the naked eye. Some of the healing colour applications that have emerged from our modern understanding of the aura include aura-soma, where bottles of coloured fluids are used to help diagnose conditions and trigger healing in the patient.

Chakra balancing is in and of itself a whole system of personal healing though and can be performed without the assistance of a therapist. Chakra balancing is viewed as a rebalancing of energies at all levels, including physical, emotional and psychic. The chakras as a whole form an energy system, relating specifically to a number of points or sites in the body. Through these sites colour is able to enter and be reflected and the condition and appearance of such colour eminences may change according to our mental, emotional and physical conditions.

It helps us to understand how chakras work if we remember that this is a holistic system. In other words if we are looking at healing the heart chakra, we need to be considering healing not only from the point of view of our physical condition but also in relation to our emotional well-being, since both areas relates to functions of the heart.

We can see connections between colour healing and the chakras through various formats, including the use of rock crystals or precious gem stones, which are linked with various emotional and physical conditions and with specific areas of the body. Pink or green stones relate to the heart chakra energy and can therefore be useful for issues to do with love, caring and relationships, as well as towards physical healing of heart conditions.

How many Chakras are involved and which body areas do they relate to?  

There is some disagreement as to the number of chakras but usually there is seen to be no less than seven and no more than eleven. The conventional wisdom cites seven chakras. 

Below is a table showing the various body areas and components that are associated with each of the chakras. As you can see each chakra relates to quite a few different factors.

Chakra and their related Body Areas 
A Beginners Guide to Chakras | Naturhelix Ear CandlesCrown
Pineal gland, central nervous system, cerebral cortex, right eye 

Pituitary gland (some also say pineal gland), nose, ears, left eye; some say "third" eye

Thyroid gland, hypothalamus, parathyroid, throat, mouth

Thymus gland, heart, lungs, arms, hands, circulatory system

Solar Plexus
Adrenal glands, stomach, pancreas, liver, gallbladder, nerves, muscles, nervous system

Prostate gland, spleen, ovaries, womb, genitals, testicles, bladder (some say adrenals)

Adrenal glands, kidneys, colon, spinal column, legs, bones

Chakra Healing - Reiki, Crystals & everyday healing

Practitioners who use crystals in healing will often place appropriate crystals on the related sites on the body. These may be crystals that accentuate the natural colour of those areas or which are designed to counter specific blockages. There is even a branch of colour healing which focuses on the chakra functions in the spine. 

An easy way to get in touch with strengthening chakras on a day to day basis is to wear clothing and accessories that will help. Once you identify which chakra needs support you simply surround yourself with the related colour as much as possible. Identification can be as simple as knowing that you have a health problem in a particular area, or recognising where the feelings are located in your body with regard to an intense emotional issue. If you feel bruised from a previous encounter with someone, for example, you may be aware of the associated feelings in the solar plexus area, just underneath the chest. If you look at the larger, Chakra Colours table below under solar plexus you can check the physical location of the feeling (i.e. "below chest") and note the related colour (Yellow) and crystal (Citrine) to wear. For simple, everyday crystal healing you may like to try an item of chakra jewellery that contains all seven crystals relating to the chakra energies. (see right hand side of this page) (Or type the word chakra into the site's search facility). 

Chakra Colours - correlations to body sites, crystals & human functions

The table below indicates the predominant colour associated with each chakra and the related crystals. There is also information about the body location and connected human functions and ideas that link with the chakras. The bracketed inclusions relate to crossover areas where different practitioners approaches vary. 

The Chakras and their associated colours and qualities

CROWN - Violet (or Magenta)
Top of Head
Amethyst, Clear quartz, high vibrational crystals Union of divine/infinite intelligence with human nature; inspiration, spiritual will/self, idealism, perfection 

BROW - Indigo or violet
Centre of forehead
Sodalite Intuition, imagination, vision, clairvoyance, wisdom, devotion, concentration, creative visualisation

THROAT - Sky Blue
Throat area
Turquoise, blue lace agate, lapis lazuli Communication, speech, creative writing & expression through sound; truth, knowledge, loyalty

HEART - Green
Centre of chest
Malachite, Jade, aventurine, rose quartz Unconditional love, compassion, forgiveness, balance, peace, understanding, harmony, centre of the soul 

Below chest
Citrine, yellow agate, amber, yellow calcite Self-esteem, willpower, confidence, warmth, humour, physical energy, nervous sensitivity, centre of human recognition

SACRAL - Orange
Lower abdomen
Carnelian Sexual desire, procreation, change, joy, tolerance, harmony, adapting to new ideas

ROOT - Red
Base of spine
Red jasper, garnet, ruby, also hematite Survival instinct, self-preservation, courage, grounding, material stability, vitality, passion, the power to create

Chakra (Body) Candles
The Naturhelix chakra candles can balance the energies of our body on the chakras. These are special points of the energy system, the energy of the chakras can be beneficially influenced by using special colours, scents or gemstones.

The colour and scent of our candles fit those of the chakra points to enhance the effectiveness of the treatment.

Chakra Body Candles candles combine the power of fire, colours and essential oils providing a unique way to harmonise subtle energy. 

The candles are used over the 7 main Chakra points to help re-balance Chakra energy.
Naturhelix Chakra Body Candles and Ear Candles
As recommended by 2 of the UK's best known ear candle trainers and authors of 'Ear Candling the Essential Guide' Lesley Hart and Mary Dalgleish.